Articles

INLEAP’s €20m Funding Headline Was Cumulative; Founders Held 80% in the 2025 List

INLEAP says it has raised about €20m since founding, while its latest filed shareholder list shows founder holding companies with 80% and outside holders with 20%.

By Hagen Hoferichter

Conduct your own private market research

Add dossaro to Claude or ChatGPT and run source-backed register research from your own workspace.

Capital-structure graphic showing INLEAP founders at 80% and outside holders at 20% in the 15 September 2025 shareholder list

INLEAP Photonics’ €20 million funding headline describes cumulative money raised since the company was founded, not a single newly priced round. The latest shareholder list retrieved for the Hannover company, dated 15 September 2025, records a different kind of hard fact: two founder holding companies still held 40% each, while named outside holders accounted for the remaining 20%.

That distinction changes what the announcement can support. INLEAP’s official release says the company has raised approximately €20 million in total and names UVC Partners, High-Tech Gründerfonds, Balnord, Sentris and Scale Capital among the investors. It says the money will fund production, testing, research and development, sales, service and certifications for laser-based counter-drone systems. Handelsblatt’s independent account likewise describes €20 million in aggregate since founding, while noting that the amount of the current financing, revenue and valuation were not disclosed.

The register evidence therefore supplies an ownership snapshot below a cumulative financing claim. It does not turn €20 million into a valuation, reveal the price paid for the latest shares or establish that every investor named in the release received shares in the 2025 issue.

The €20m figure is a funding history, not a round price

INLEAP announced the financing on 1 September 2026 from Hannover. The company presents the capital as support for the move from product development to series production and for the testing, certification and service work required by defence customers. Its product material describes laser systems intended to detect and defeat drones, an activity where hardware qualification and deployment capacity matter as much as laboratory performance.

The wording “approximately €20 million in total” matters. A cumulative figure can include earlier equity, grants, convertible instruments or other financing that arrived at different times and on different terms. Neither the official announcement nor the independent Handelsblatt report gives a single issue price, post-money valuation or a reconciliation between the cumulative total and a specific allotment of shares. EU-Startups’ report repeats the €20 million funding story and the UVC-led investor group, but also does not publish a price or a holder-level allocation.

For a private defence company, the commercial consequence is straightforward. Series production, customer acceptance and certification consume cash before they create a mature revenue base. The headline indicates meaningful funding capacity. It does not tell a counterparty how much new equity was issued, how much dilution founders accepted or which claims rank ahead of the operating business.

The 2025 shareholder list shows an 80/20 register state

The exact legal entity is INLEAP Photonics GmbH, registered at Hannover Local Court as HRB 225445. A public INLEAP engineering vacancy uses the same legal name and register number. The retrieved shareholder list was placed in the register folder on 15 September 2025 and refers to changes in the deed dated 21 August 2025.

The filing states €31,247 of share capital and gives each holder a number of €1 shares. Its stated percentages are the decisive ownership reading at that date:

Holder in the filed listShares statedStated share of capitalFiling note
Felix Wellmann Holding GmbH12,50040%Founder holding company
Marius Lammers Holding GmbH12,50040%Founder holding company
High-Tech Gründerfonds IV GmbH & Co. KG3,12510%“Kapitalerhöhung”
Speedball Ventures GmbH4681.5%“Kapitalerhöhung”
Albertuswerke Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung9373%“Kapitalerhöhung”
VENTIS GmbH & Co. KG7812.5%“Kapitalerhöhung”
U. Dingireiter GmbH4671.5%“Kapitalerhöhung”
Franz Friedrich Butz2340.75%“Kapitalerhöhung”
Dr.-Ing. Carsten Kuhlgatz2340.75%“Kapitalerhöhung”

The two founder holding companies therefore account for 80% of the filing’s stated capital. The outside entries add to 20%, with HTGF alone at 10% and the other named entrants making up the balance. The percentages are the filing’s stated, rounded values; this article does not recompute a different denominator from the share counts.

This is a dated register state, not a claim about the company’s ownership on 4 September 2026. The public announcement came almost a year after the list was filed. A later shareholder list could have added investors, changed the founder positions or documented a new capital increase that is not yet visible in the retrieved material.

“Kapitalerhöhung” identifies the mechanism, not the cheque size

The filing note attached to each outside entry is “Kapitalerhöhung,” or capital increase. That wording is useful because it distinguishes a newly created block from a simple transfer of an existing founder share. It supports the conclusion that the 20% outside-holder state was created through an increase in share capital recorded in the 2025 deed changes.

It does not disclose the euro subscription price. A German GmbH shareholder list normally identifies the holder, nominal share amount and percentage, but it is not a term sheet. The list does not state whether the outside holders paid nominal value only, paid an additional premium, converted an earlier instrument or participated in more than one financing step. It also does not map the €20 million cumulative headline to the 20% block.

The legal form of the founder holdings matters as well. The list names Felix Wellmann Holding GmbH and Marius Lammers Holding GmbH, not the founders as individuals. The register proves the direct holders and their stated percentages. It does not, by itself, establish ultimate beneficial ownership, voting agreements, liquidation preferences or board appointment rights inside those holding companies.

HTGF’s 10% position is the clearest bridge between the public investor list and the register. Even there, the evidence is limited to the dated shareholder state. Balnord, Sentris and Scale Capital are named in the 2026 announcement, but the retrieved list does not show them. That could mean they invested later, invested through a vehicle with a different name, supplied non-equity capital or were involved in an earlier or parallel financing. The public record does not choose among those explanations.

The economic reading is a transition from founders to a financing block

The useful insight is not that founders own 80% today. It is that the company’s latest retrieved register state combines a large founder block with a clearly labelled outside-holder block while the public funding number is cumulative. The two facts answer different diligence questions.

The release answers how much money INLEAP says has been raised over its life and what the company plans to do with it. The shareholder list answers who held the nominal share capital at a specific historical date and which entries were recorded as capital increases. Together they show why a funding headline should not be used as a proxy for dilution or valuation.

This pattern is familiar across private-market financing. Advanced Electric Machines’ capital-stack analysis separates a parent-level equity headline from secured debt over an operating company’s assets. HyImpulse’s public-private round shows how a large financing announcement can leave holder-level economics open. INLEAP adds a simpler but important variation: the public number is explicitly cumulative, while the filed ownership state is precise only for September 2025.

For employees, suppliers and potential customers, the difference affects expectations about runway and control. A company moving into series production may have substantial technical and commercial momentum while still needing further equity or debt. For investors, the difference affects how to read dilution risk. An 80% founder register state before the announcement is evidence of retained nominal ownership at that date, not evidence that the founders retained 80% after the €20 million was raised.

The next filing should connect the announcement to the cap table

The decision-changing document is a post-announcement shareholder list or deed filing for INLEAP Photonics GmbH. It would show whether UVC, Balnord, Sentris, Scale or another vehicle entered the register, whether HTGF’s percentage changed and whether the founders’ holding companies were diluted. A filing that includes the nominal issue amounts and deed date would also help identify whether the 2026 announcement relates to a new equity issue, an earlier financing aggregate or a mixed package.

Until that document appears, the fairest conclusion is bounded. INLEAP says it has raised about €20 million since founding to build laser-based counter-drone systems. The latest retrieved list, filed in September 2025, shows founders at 40% each and named outside holders at 20%, with every outside entry marked as a capital increase. That is a documented 80/20 historical ownership state beneath a cumulative funding headline, not a disclosed 2026 valuation, round price or final post-money cap table.

Sources and method

This analysis uses INLEAP’s official announcement, Handelsblatt’s independent coverage, EU-Startups’ report, and the public German register portal. The exact legal identity is cross-checked against INLEAP’s engineering vacancy. The shareholder percentages and “Kapitalerhöhung” labels come from the 15 September 2025 shareholder list retrieved through the Dossaro research workflow. No valuation, subscription price, beneficial ownership, control change or 2026 post-money allocation is inferred.

Continue reading