Foundational's £8.2m Pre-Seed Put Preferred Shares Ahead of Founders
Foundational's £8.2m pre-seed left 480,827 preferred shares ahead of founder ordinary stock, revealing the priority stack behind its satellite-laser launch.
On this page
Conduct your own private market research
Add dossaro to Claude or ChatGPT and run source-backed register research from your own workspace.

Foundational's £8.2 million pre-seed did more than fund a satellite-laser network. The latest Companies House statement shows 480,827 preferred shares sitting ahead of ordinary shares in a winding-up, while the founders still hold 810,000 ordinary shares between them. The filing makes the round's economic trade-off visible before the company has begun its commercial rollout.
The public launch presents Foundational as a space-infrastructure company emerging from stealth. Its system combines satellite retroreflectors, automated ground stations and the Origin data platform to make satellite laser ranging more deployable. Final Frontier says the company raised £8.2 million from Inflection, BACKED, Adjacent, Type One Ventures and Final Frontier. The Cap Table's independent account confirms the investor group and notes that the valuation and equity sold were not disclosed.
The register supplies the missing structure. Foundational Limited, company number 16515763, filed 814,070 ordinary shares, 368,169 Pre-Seed 1 preferred shares and 112,658 Pre-Seed 2 preferred shares. Both preferred classes carry one vote per share, but each has preferential participation over ordinary shares on a winding-up. That is not a control-transfer finding. It is a documented priority claim that will matter if the business is sold, wound up or otherwise distributes value through a downside scenario.
The public round is a commercial launch; the register is a priority map
The Final Frontier announcement dated 1 October 2026 calls the financing the largest European space-tech pre-seed to date, using the investor's characterization. It says Foundational grew out of Lumi Space and will commercialise satellite laser ranging. Inflection's investment note says Inflection led the £8.2 million round with BACKED, Adjacent, Final Frontier and Type One.
Those sources explain why the company is raising money. The Companies House profile and its filed capital documents explain what the money bought in legal terms. The June 2026 confirmation statement is the key snapshot. It records 1,294,897 issued shares, split as follows:
| Filed class | Shares | Share of issued count | Priority stated in the filing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ordinary | 814,070 | 62.87% | Pari passu dividends and winding-up participation |
| Pre-Seed 1 preferred | 368,169 | 28.43% | One vote; preferential participation over ordinary |
| Pre-Seed 2 preferred | 112,658 | 8.70% | One vote; preferential participation over ordinary |
| Total | 1,294,897 | 100% | Preferred classes sit ahead of ordinary on a winding-up |
The preferred block is 480,827 shares, or 37.13% of the filed share count. The language does not disclose a liquidation multiple, a guaranteed return or a current sale value. It does establish that ordinary holders do not stand first in the distribution order simply because they hold the largest class by count.
Founders retain the ordinary majority, but not the first claim on value
The incorporation filing dated 13 June 2025 shows Hira Virdee with 7,800 of the initial 10,000 ordinary shares, David Gooding with 1,800 and David Balson with 400. The October 2025 ordinary allotment expanded that class to 810,000 shares. The later preferred allotments added the investor layer rather than replacing the founders' ordinary block.
The June confirmation statement identifies the holders behind the current map. Virdee has 631,800 ordinary shares, Gooding 145,800 and Balson 32,400. Together they hold 810,000 ordinary shares. Entrepreneurs First (Global) GP Limited holds a further 4,070 ordinary shares. The named preferred positions are:
| Holder | Pre-Seed 1 | Pre-Seed 2 | Total preferred | Share of all issued shares |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adjacent V3 LP | 139,087 | 18,141 | 157,228 | 12.14% |
| BACKED 3 LP | 81,816 | 54,425 | 136,241 | 10.52% |
| Inflection Mercury Fund LP | 113,478 | 6,833 | 120,311 | 9.29% |
| Type One Fund III LP | 24,544 | 12,094 | 36,638 | 2.83% |
| Final Frontier Liftoff K/S | 8,181 | 15,118 | 23,299 | 1.80% |
| Elad Verbin and Charles Songhurst | 1,063 | 6,047 | 7,110 | 0.55% |
The founders' 810,000 ordinary shares equal 62.55% of the issued total. Because the filing gives each preferred share one vote, the count suggests that the founders collectively remain the larger voting block on the filed numbers. It does not prove board control, a shareholder agreement, reserved matters or the position of any unfiled instrument. It also does not turn the founders' ordinary shares into a guaranteed economic outcome. On a winding-up, the preferred classes have the stated priority.
That distinction is the useful finding. A financing can leave founders with a majority of the visible share count while moving a substantial claim ahead of them in the downside waterfall. Open Cosmos's preferred-financing analysis shows the same separation at a much larger round: a headline amount can coexist with preference terms that define who gets paid first. StandardX's two-class seed shows how a preferred recapitalisation can preserve founder voting weight while changing the economic order.
The filed prices explain part of the round, not all of it
The two SH01 allotment filings give a further check on the public £8.2 million figure. The Pre-Seed 1 shares were stated at £9.37 each and the Pre-Seed 2 shares at £12.68 each. Applying those filed amounts to the full classes gives:
- 368,169 Pre-Seed 1 shares at £9.37: £3,449,743.53.
- 112,658 Pre-Seed 2 shares at £12.68: £1,428,503.44.
- Combined stated amount paid: approximately £4,878,246.97.
That is a reconciliation clue, not a replacement for the public £8.2 million announcement. The filing may not capture every instrument, closing or commercial component represented in the launch figure, and the public sources do not publish a valuation. The safe conclusion is narrower: the visible preferred allotments carry stated paid amounts of about £4.88 million, while the company and its backers describe a larger £8.2 million pre-seed. The gap cannot be assigned to a particular investor, share class or instrument from these records.
The sequence also matters. The ordinary allotment was filed in December 2025 for shares allotted on 15 October. The preferred allotments were dated between 16 October and 5 November 2025 and filed in February 2026. The confirmation statement was made up to 12 June 2026, months before the company emerged from stealth. This is a capital stack assembled ahead of the announcement, not a share issue that can be read solely from the October press cycle.
A director departure is a date, not an explanation
Companies House received a TM01 on 24 September 2026 recording David Balson's termination as a director effective 3 July. Balson remains listed with 32,400 ordinary shares in the June confirmation statement. The filing gives no reason for the departure, and the public launch does not connect it to the financing. It is therefore a watchpoint rather than evidence of a founder exit, loss of control or a negotiated investor condition.
The same restraint applies to the founder PSC record. Hira Virdee was recorded at incorporation as holding 75% or more of the shares and voting rights and having the right to appoint or remove a majority of the board. The June 2026 confirmation statement lists current holdings, but the evidence reviewed here does not establish a refreshed PSC conclusion, a beneficial-owner result or a shareholder agreement. The article can show the movement from an initial founder-controlled vehicle to a preferred-backed cap table without claiming who controls every decision today.
What the next filing could change
Foundational is still early in its commercial build. Independent coverage says the company plans to expand automated ground stations, manufacture more space hardware in-house and develop Origin. SpaceReporting's account describes the system's retroreflectors, ground stations and software and reports the company's plan for 10 to 20 stations. Those plans make the priority structure commercially relevant: the investors with preferred claims are underwriting infrastructure that may take time to reach recurring revenue, while the founders retain a large ordinary position whose value depends on execution and exit conditions.
The next decision-changing evidence is a new confirmation statement, a further SH01, the articles or an investor agreement that sets out the preference formula, or a filing that explains the 2026 class change and any new financing. Those documents could show whether the preferred shares are participating, capped, convertible or protected by additional rights. Until then, the defensible finding is specific: Foundational's £8.2 million pre-seed sits on 480,827 filed preferred shares with priority over ordinary shares, while the founders retain 810,000 ordinary shares and the largest visible share-count block.
That is a richer reading than the launch headline. The round funded a new orbital infrastructure company, but it also established who stands first if the infrastructure takes longer to pay off.
Continue reading
Related Research
Open Cosmos' Founder Held About 41% Before Its €300m Round
Open Cosmos' €300m round sits above a register where founder Rafael Jorda held about 41% of stated capital and preferred shares ranked ahead of ordinary.
StandardX's £10m Seed Round Put Two Preferred Classes Ahead of Ordinary Shares
StandardX announced a £10m isotope seed. Companies House filings show £9.81m of priced allotments, senior preferred rights and a pre-round funding gap.
NEURA's Bosch Shuttle Deal Lands on a Newly Syndicated Capital Base
NEURA's Bosch Shuttle deal adds a proven logistics platform to a company whose 2026 register widened around five new vehicles while Bosch held 0.11% nominal equity.
Depotcharge's €2.7m Pre-Seed Still Leaves Evolve Energy 50/50
Depotcharge announced a €2.7m pre-seed, but Evolve Energy's latest register still shows founder vehicles owning 50% each with no investor allotment visible.
